Home > series > Writing 101 Day 7

Writing 101 Day 7

[Writing 101, Day Seven: Give and Take
Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.]

 

“I can’t believe what I’m hearing. I’ve known you longer than anyone. I thought we’d have shared everything, but after what you just said, I don’t think I know you, at all.”

 

“Come on! I’m the same person I’ve always been. I don’t see what the big deal is.”

 

“The big deal?! How can you say that? There is no proof, none, nada. How can you believe in such a crazy notion? I thought you were sensible.”

 

“I am being sensible and logical. You are not listening to me. Can you calm down and listen or just shout at me with indignation?”

 

“Alright, I’m sorry. I’ll listen. Go ahead.”

 

“We both know the law; matter and energy are neither created nor destroyed. They can only change form. Can you accept that?”

 

“Of course! It is law, irrefutable.”

 

“Okay, so once we are conceived, we, as beings of matter and energy, grow by converting matter into energy and back.”

 

“In a way, yes I agree.”

 

“So, when we die, the body stops growing, mostly, except for some hair and nails, but the electrical energy that makes the body move and carries thought into action disappears. It *must* go somewhere; it simply cannot disappear. It is not converted into matter. In fact, some studies claim that the body actually loses a little weight when bodily functions end.”

 

“I have heard of those studies, doubtful though some of them were. I agree that the matter and energy is not destroyed, but …”

 

“Wait, wait. You agree that the energy must go somewhere, so why is it so hard to accept that the energy could change form and continue to exist?”

 

“I have no problem with the energy persisting after death, but to postulate that the released energy could or would exhibit some form of cohesion and stay together instead of expanding into the space at large, is unproven and not logical from what we know of energy released into an environment.”

 

“Because there is no massive, or even detectable, release of electrical energy, or any other form, at the point of death to account for the conservation of energy, what I’m proposing is that when the body cannot contain the energy, it is transformed, by some unknown process, and the energy slips out of our physical realm, into another dimension, a dimension of thought.”

 

“You are proposing that these ghosts and spirits are the remnant energies left over after someone dies. What you have not explained is how, once the energy has slipped out of our dimension, even if I accept, for the sake of argument, that this strange dimension enables these puddles of energy to maintain some cohesion, some people claim to be able to detect this energy in the form of a spirit.”

 

“I don’t have all the answers, but can you concede that my argument has enough logical basis, even though we may not understand all the processes, that I *could* be correct?”

 

“Damn! Yes, I have to concede that because I cannot positively refute your notion, it *could* be correct. Well, at least you are not one of those crazies that believe that the Zombie Apocalypse is possible.”

 

“Well….”

 

Categories: series Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

