Home > series > Writing 101 Day 3

Writing 101 Day 3

Share three songs that are significant to you.
As a twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

The twist of today was to write for 15 minutes uninterrupted and commit to a writing/blogging habit. Fifteen minutes really is not that much time, most of waste more than that just trying to figure out what to watch on TV or listen to on our music players. So I will go on record right here and now ans commit to writing 15 minutes a day and we’ll just see what dribbles out of my head before we are all done. 🙂

Tasked with picking three songs – just 3? out of the thousands I have in my player and my terrabyte library drive – that mean something to me and why they do. This was very hard and I know that as soon as I hit PUBLISH, more will pop into my head that … wait, I just thought of one I forgot about until just now. NOW, I have to think about do I add it or replace one in my list….
OK, I have replaced one in my list with the newly remembered one. If I can only get through the rest of the 15 minutes without thinking of another, I’ll be doing great! Now I have to get to which songs I picked and why they are important… Oops. Another replacement. Just a moment….

THIS time, I just had to add the song, so now I have four in my list. I have to get to the topic at hand before I think of something else.
In the order that I thought of them, which happens to be reverse, chronologically, about when they made an impression in my life, the list is:
Just a Dream” by Nelly, covered by Christina Grimmie, Sam Tsui, and Kurt Schneider
Leadfoot Getaway” by Blue Stahli
Singing in the Rain” by Gene Kelly
Fly Me to the Moon” by Frank Sinatra

Before they were hits and garnered fans via TV, Radio, CDs, and concerts, I fell in love with Sam, Christina, and Kurt for their retakes on existing songs and their creativity, but mostly for having the courage to practice their art to the unblinking, unforgiving eye of the internet. Giving us all the opportunity to share in their gift is, in my opinion, one of the bravest things a person can do. Their bravery inspires me to share my writing to the internet. This song, “Just a Dream,” is, IMHO, better as a duet than the original. There is a point about three minutes into the song that gives me chills every time I hear it. There is something about the combined music and voices that makes me think of regret, hope, love, and desire, all at once.

The next song on my list, “Leadfoot Getaway,” is an instrumental by Blue Stahli. Listening to the song reminds me of the feeling I get with the windows down on a summer day, driving on country back roads as a young man in my early 20s, not a care in the world beyond the next curve and hill. The song makes me feel, in music, the way the driver of Rush’s “Red Barchetta” must have felt.

Moving backwards down the number-line, “Singing in the Rain” speaks to my love of old movies, especially of the grace and sheer joy Gene Kelly always seemed to have on the screen. It was like he felt the joy and his body just moved on its own, very much unlike the awkward teenager watching him.

I didn’t realize it until I was a parent myself, after getting some of my old baby things from my mother for our baby boy, that my favorite music box played “Fly me to the Moon.” I had always remembered the tune as the box played it, and did not associate it to the original song until hearing it as an adult. In my head I can still hear the music box tinkling out its uneven tune, knowing that the real song is much smoother, but the rhythm of the music box takes me back to before I had any visual memories beyond vague impressions. Still, the music has always been with me.

I have many more songs that speak to me, usually they remind me of people who have passed through my life or special, to me, happenings, but these four give you a glimpse into me.

Categories: series Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

