Home > NaBloPoMo > NaBloPoMo 2011: Day 10

NaBloPoMo 2011: Day 10

10 November 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

What is your secret (or not-so-secret) passion?
(Guest Post by Jean Kwok, author of Girl in Translation)

When I was 14, I was introduced to a different kind of game – a game that had no board, but you used a pencil, paper, some dice and a lot of imagination – I started playing Dungeons & Dragons. I have been in love with Role Playing Games ever since (30 years now).

From RPGs, I have learned to write stories, at first in the genre of epic fantasy, but later I began exploring other topics, settling into a speculative fiction genre. and from writing, and to support this new avenue of expression, I got into blogging, and blogging led me to you.

The game of teenage and college geeks, I have never given up and have even passed it to my children. Now, Friday evenings, my kids go with me to The Crimson Castle (the local game store) for an evening of Pathfinder Role Playing.

I am very happy that my passion has enabled me to spend quality time with my kids.

Categories: NaBloPoMo
  1. 11 November 2011 at 11:38

    I too passed the love of RPG to my kids. They play much more than I have time to (in fact it has been some three years since my last ‘campaign’). They seem to enjoy it as much as I ever did, so I feel safe saying it will go on to my grandkids!

  1. 21 November 2011 at 11:35

Leave a Reply

