Home > music > House Concert: Melissa Mitchell and Spiff

House Concert: Melissa Mitchell and Spiff

19 February 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments


WHEN: Friday, February 26 at 8:00 pm (Alaska time), midnight Eastern, 11:00 pm Central

WHERE: listen online here

HOW MUCH: $10 Suggested Donation ~ All of it goes to the musician in support of their independent music career.

Artist info:

Melissa Mitchell Introspective. Socially conscious. These are just a few of the words that can be used to describe singer/songwriter Melissa Mitchell. Ani DiFranco, Bonnie Raitt and James Taylor are just a few of Melissa’s musical influences. Her love of DiFranco’s career illustrates Melissa’s support of independent music. She feels a growing momentum in underground music and is excited about the message it brings to listeners. Melissa believes in supporting the people who support her. This homegrown Alaskan is a gem in her community and the people of her state rest assured that she will always keep her home close to heart.

A community supporter at heart, Melissa spends time volunteering for a number of charitable organizations across the state. She is currently lending her talents to the compilation CD, Alaskan Women Songwriters for Peace, with the proceeds going to local women’s charities. Most recently, she formed Second Saturdays in Spenard at the Spenard Roadhouse. Every month a different charity is selected to receive funds raised though live music, auction items and public donations. Melissa and Spiff together also recently spent a week performing and holding workshops for the inmates at New Folsom Prison where Melissa has been a volunteer for 4 years.

“Rain or Shine” is the second full-length album for Melissa, following her first album, “Alma.” Her freshman release was an eclectic mix of songs that takes the listener through the highs and lows of life’s journey. The same can be said for “Rain or Shine” however, the songwriters level of growth and maturity are quite evident in this new batch of songs.

You can find out more about Melissa here:

Spiff Sean “Spiff” Chambers – Let’s see… The honest truth is that I don’t really play out all that often. I drive a tour bus in the summer, and enjoy ample relaxation in the winter. I live in Girdwood, Alaska with my woman, Cole. We came here in a roundabout way 6 years ago from several points in the midwest. I grew up in Dubuque, Iowa. I like Iowa. I’ll probably move back there someday. But for now I’ll be here. Girdwood is really a special place. If you’ve been here you know what I mean. If you haven’t, then you should come check it out, just ask anybody that’s been here. Music has been with me for my whole life. It started with the musicals my folks got my brothers and I involved in, the piano lessons, choirs, then trombone for a short bit, more musicals and plays, then bass guitar. It was my senior year in high school before I ever picked up a six string guitar. My friend showed me some chords in his basement, and my first strums were learned on my mom’s Gaucho, which was a total piece of shit guitar, but it caught my interest, and I got hooked. Around the same time, I saw Greg Brown play at Micheal’s Edgewater Inn in Bellevue, Iowa, sometime around the holidays. Best show of my life. I remember thinking that this guy’s got the best job in the world. Maybe someday I could do something like that. Maybe it was just a coincidence that I’d just learned my first chords…. I’ve been lucky enough to play many a rollicking night either here or there, with alot of good folks, and it’s been a blast. I’m a sucker for live music, and I’m glad that I’ve got something to throw into the stew.

You can find out more about Spiff here:

Join me listening to this House Concert.

Categories: music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

