Home > NaNoWriMo > NaNoWriMo: Day 27 (NaNoWriMo 2009 Winner)

NaNoWriMo: Day 27 (NaNoWriMo 2009 Winner)

27 November 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here is where I am:
Day: 27
Words: 50969
Target: 50000
Mood: Calm, almost blase

I have been heads down for the past 2+ weeks. I have traded my walking lunch times for writing lunch times. I have spent every spare half-hour, I could slip away, pouring myself into NaNoWriMo.

After getting up at 04.30 for some Black Friday shopping, I finished the scene and posted my progress this morning and was rewarded with the WINNER notification. I have successfully, in one of the busiest months of the year, dedicated myself and wrote 50,000 words in a brand new story. I printed the winner certificate and after hanging it, went to take a nap. Now, I have had lunch, and now am feeling a bit of a let down. The pressure of NaNoWriMo is off and I have the option to do other things, but I find myself wandering back to the keyboard and then away again a little while later.

Fifty Thousand words and the story I am telling is not over, probably not by half. I guess I thought I would feel a greater relief at reaching the goal, but from the end looking back toward the beginning, 50000 words doesn’t seem like all that much (Maybe it is like that with some goals).

But I look at it like this – Many people that attempt this do not succeed, so I am in an elite group, a tribe of sorts – NaNoWriMo 2009 Winners.

I made the time and dedicated myself to a goal.

I Did It!

I Won!

… now what?

Categories: NaNoWriMo
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

