Home > essay > Taking Control

Taking Control

9 September 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As I mentioned on 29 May, I am among the ranks of the unemployed. I have spent the past 3 months talking with people on the phone and in e-mails, burrowing through countless job board ads, reworking and sending numerous resumes out to all interested people, and scoring a few interviews. The result of all this effort – nada. I am still unemployed and now that the kids have gone back to school, though it was nice to have the summer “off,” it is time to get back to it.

On the way back from the grocery store last week, the thought occurred to me that I have tied my career to others. For almost two decades, I have left it to my superiors to assign my worth and usefulness and in so doing trusting my career success to their opinions. I reached the frustration level that has spawned this notion of “Taking Control.” I am done relying on the whims of other people – people I often do not know – to dictate my level of career advancement and success.

My career, in all of its forms, and my success therein is MINE. I am taking control of my own success level and am now taking steps to ensure that I can be successful, at least by my own standards, regardless the whims of the unknown masses.

My approach is on two fronts: Writing and Consulting. As Zig Ziglar once said, “You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want.” It is this philosophy I will use in my ongoing career. I have consulted before and am leveraging those skills in personal interaction, requirements determination, and solution creation. I have been writing novels, essays, poetry, and shorts for several years now and am ready to move from the hobbyist to the freelance professional.

I am going to help other people get what they want so that, together, we can all win.

I am taking control.

Categories: essay
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

