Home > Letters from the Heart, series > Letters from the Heart 11

Letters from the Heart 11

24 September 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dear Alex,

I didn’t want you to worry, but I am in the hospital again. This time, though, it is nothing serious at all. An explosive went off near me and I got a concussion. I have been here for a couple of weeks, but I should be getting out in a few more days.

Something occurred to me this morning. I cannot remember smelling anything for a long time, at least since I was in the hospital having my legs worked on. I have been going so hard for so long that it didn’t occur to me at first. But, I had a dream last night and I got to thinking.

I was dreaming that we were at a picnic in the park; like the summer before we got married. The park was large and mostly deserted as most of the people were inside on this Independence Day, the hottest day of the year. You were wearing your red bikini top with the white polkadots and a pair of white shorts. We played frisbee in the grass for a while and then collapsed on the picnic blanket to smell the freshly cut grass, the flowers, and the warm summer air.

I miss that day and you. Sure, I am in a hospital, but I can’t even smell the ammonia and bleach they clean this place with. At first, I figured that maybe the concussion just blocked out my sense of smell, but then I remembered that I haven’t smelled anything for weeks. I can’t even smell this awful food, not that cardboard with ketchup has a strong smell, anyway.

It’s been a couple of days and I still cannot smell anything – not even Larry’s socks. Maybe it is a blessing after all. I have been cleared for duty and we are being shipped out. I just remembered to call Larry and tell him. Remind me to tell you about the time we left Larry behind. It was frakin funny.

Gotta scoot.
Please walk out into the yard and smell everything – smell it for me, because I can’t.

I’m only a single heartbeat away.
Michael.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 31 October 2008 at 06:50

Leave a Reply

