Home > Letters from the Heart, series > Letters from the Heart 3

Letters from the Heart 3

Alex,

I wanted to write to you now, because I don’t know when I’ll be able to again. I just got orders to requisition a lot of gear. If experience is any judge, I expect that we will be gone for over a month. I don’t know where we will be going, but I expect it to be cold and rough terrain.

I wanted to take the opportunity to write to you and remind you to watch the full moon. I’ll watch it too and think of you. Also, I wanted to let you know that my arms feel hollow without you in them. I miss holding you, terribly. I hope that after this mission, I’ll be able to call you. I don’t know if you have written me back, but I have not received them. I figure they will all catch up with me, in a bunch, once we stop moving all the time.

Remember the ache I would get in my hands and arms after driving for hours? My palms would be sore, like they were bruised, along the head line. My forearms would feel like a bone chill had settled in, but without the cold. I have the same feeling now, but I have not driven a vehicle since I left home. If it doesn’t get better soon, I’ll tell the doc after this mission.

The other night, I had dreamed of last summer. We went to the park with the mutt and tossed the Frisbee. In the dream, I remember tossing the Frisbee further and further, until the mutt was worn out and lay panting on the grass. We lay on the blanket. I could see the breeze moving the grass, flowers, and the golden locks of your hair, but try as I might, I could not smell the flowers nor could I smell your sun warmed hair. I awoke with a start.

I am loving you even in my dreams.

Don’t worry if you don’t get a letter from me for a month or two. I’ll write as soon as I can

I am only a heartbeat away.
Michael

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

